Fate/Extra CCC English patch RELEASED!

No, like, but really. It’s here. CCC is done.

It’s okay, take a second to process that.

With that done, BB hacked us and uploaded the patch to the Moon Cell we have finished the testing phase with everyone completing the game, so we’ve got no reason to hold onto it anymore!

With just how many years this project took, I wanted to give anyone who wanted to a moment to say a few words (okay some of these are essays~):

—CCC Translation Team—
Producer/Editor – cj_iwakura
Super Hacker – esperknight
Translator/Master – rikkuchou
Translator/Hero Unit – ItsumoKnight
Incredible Hacker – Kotcrab
Image Editors – IgorAkou, RoboticBomber
FoxTail Translator – EDreamer
Quality Checker – Kinsei
Translator/Tooler – JS
Translator/Battle/Shitposter – SnowyAria
Stealthy Translator – khikari
Tester: Caterer Class – Telephone_ghost

ItsumoKnight:
While it's pretty dang trite, it legitimately has been an honor to work with everyone on the CCC Translation Team. It takes a special kind of crazy to go from “I wish this existed” to “screw it, I’ll do it myself”.
 
I initially signed on because I was pissed about Extra’s endings. I was so mad and when I found out there was a JP-only sequel with a better ending for dear sweet Hakuno, I signed right the F up. I was so ready to translate Fate/Extra CCC!......’s walkthrough.
See, I played to an excellent Extra guide from Cirnopoly. Even back when, I knew that translating what amounts to an entire visual novel was a big task. So heck if I wanted to do that! What I wanted out of the project was to be a secondary translator; being the lore guy who could translate all the other things while someone else faces the behemoth. But yeah, life happened and then I was a main translator. There goes that plan.
 
Woefully unprepared as I was (and still am, I’m not blind to that) I must thank the people who jumped on this crazy train with me.
cj_iwakura and esperknight for leading the way, being mentors and friends to us all. Kotcrab and JS who nigh-literally made this project a reality. And Aria, a collegue I look up to very much. The remaining names listed in the credits I did not have as much time working with as I’d have liked but everyone played their part in making this patch not-imaginary. I’m glad to have been in their company.
 
We only put 2 memes into this game. One is a loving homage to Aksys, and you’ll find it in a similar place. The other was an error message for installation, which we took back out when we disabled the install; we put it in the patcher instead, so just 1 meme. All other references in the game are on Nasu, not us.
Please enjoy a faithful rendition of Fate/Extra CCC.
cj_iwakura:
If you're reading this, you're about to embark on a trip through the longest fan translation project I've ever been involved in(as of now, anyway). Fate/Extra is a title that's near and dear to me, since it was a game that I picked up on a whim at a time when I was always interested in new and/or quirky RPGs that tried to do something different.

Fate/Extra was definitely that. Love or hate the game, it has a genuinely unique battle system, an off-the-wall soundtrack that goes for more ethereal atmosphere than anything, and a plot that isn't afraid to mix up expectations with long-existing characters while introducing equally intriguing, brand new ones.

It was also, of all things, my first real gateway to the labyrinthine Fate franchise. After playing Extra, I decided to watch Fate/Zero, which rapidly hooked me, and became my first anime after a long drought of disinterest in the medium, and the rest is history. Since then, I played the original VN in its entirety, and watched almost every anime that came about in the meantime, namely the fantastic Ufotable adaptations of the original series and the underrated El Melloi II Case Files.

Little did I know there was also a sequel, and that for many years, there had been attempts at breaking through its Moon Cell-esque barrier in attempts at making a translation, with little success.

At some point, I happened upon the dormant project, and happened upon some other like-minded souls interested in carrying the torch and bringing the project to fruition.

Nearly a decade later, here we are.

We've had several testers going through the many, many routes of the game, primarily in an effort to fix grammar quibbles, typos, inaccuracies, and so on.

While we've been very, very thorough, bear in mind, CCC is a massive, MASSIVE script, and things may have slipped through the cracks. We're a pretty small team, but we're quick to fix problems, so if you happen upon any, feel free to let us know, just bear in mind, there's bound to be some escapees when dealing with a project of this scope. (I have a newfound respect for the lunatics at XSeed and the like who dealt with the Legend of Heroes games.)

We tried to be as accurate to the original script as possible. Anyone familiar with Kinoko Nasu's works knows that he loves his obscure references and intricacies, so we tried to keep those as faithful as can be.

So without further ado, put conventional thinking to one side, and enjoy your trip into the Moon Cell.

Well, I 'say' enjoy...

-cj

P.S. Shout-outs to the Tamamo faithful in our discord for keeping the faith.
Kotcrab:
I still remember how excited I got when I managed to change some text on screen in Fate/Extra by manually fiddling with the emulator’s memory. Back then, I had no idea what I was doing or what it takes to make a fan translation. I was just learning and researching the game files with no particular goal in mind. Who knew it would go from that to releasing one of the longest and most complex projects I’ve ever worked on. I’m happy we were able to make both the CCC English patch and the Perfect Patch. I hope with this release we finally delivered to you the ultimate Fate/Extra experience. Thank you to everyone else on the team for making this dream possible, and thank you all for sticking with us for all this time.

- Kotcrab

P.S. For those interested in our translation tools we’re planning to open source them in the near future so stay tuned.
SnowyAria:
It has been an honor being your shitposter. This project was certainly one of the longest I've been on, and I only joined partway! Being able to release Fate/Extra with subtitles was amazing to see, but that'll pale in comparison to seeing CCC in the hands of everyone out there! Thank you to ItsumoKnight and everyone for taking the chance and letting me join up! Originally, I thought I'd just be doing the audio-only translations, which at the time I was worried I'd gotten myself over my head with how hard that could be (I'm looking at you Gatou 🗡). I'm happy to say not only did everything work out, but I was able to contribute even more to getting this out the door. Someone had to take the team role of “deadline setter” and “whip cracking”~

Fate has been a special series to me ever since the Deen anime got me into it years and years ago. It may not be everyone's favorite, but I loved it to hell and back, and it was only uphill from there. I played the visual novel shortly after, but only the Fate route had been translated at the time. I remember rabidly jumping at the UBW patch the moment it released and reading it in record time. To think I'd go from a fan eagerly awaiting a fan patch to the translator providing the patch…

Thank you to all of you as well for your tremendous patience! For getting the editing pass done, Kotcrab rewarded me with a certain PSP script I've been wishing for, so you may see me again soon~
khikari:
Just popping in to thank everyone for their amazing work and dedication! I didn’t contribute too much other than a couple of graphics and tidbits, but it was incredible to see the team put everything together. I’m really happy more people get to play this game and experience the full Fate/Extra series experience (and find some closure too)!
IgorAkou:
Hi hi, I was mainly in charge of the image editing for a lot of the textures in the game. And I'd like to thank everyone's hard work for making this huge project a possibility and for making me part of the team. And if you're a fan of princess connect, feel free to check out my twitter (⁠ ⁠´⁠◡⁠‿⁠ゝ⁠◡⁠`⁠)
EsperKnight:
I just want to say I'm incredibly glad that Kotcrab took it over. Without him this would not have gotten the treatment it deserved.

Telephone_Ghost:

And finally, the patch itself! – Fate/Extra CCC – English Patch v1.0
Bug/typo reporting form – Fate/Extra CCC – Bug/Typo Reporting Form

123 responses to “Fate/Extra CCC English patch RELEASED!

  1. Thanks to all the people involved in this translation, this is surely one heck of a final year present! May you all have a merry christmas and a good end of the year!!

  2. Thank you so much for your work and dedication – I`ve waited for this so soooo long! Glad you managed to finish this!

  3. Thank you so much for all your hard works. All your names will certainly be etched as mythical legend forever in this franchise.

  4. Thank you for this wonderful birthday gift. I’ve been waiting for so long. But the wait was worth it. Thank you so much.

  5. Holey Moley! The long awaited translation of Fate/Extra sequel has finally been released! The whole team needs more praise for allowing those of us who haven’t yet learned japanese to play this game and actually understand what’s going on! Hope that everyone who contributed to the project will have a wonderful new year!

  6. Thank you so much guys, it was the best Christmas present I’ve ever received! We are all grateful and owe you and the team a lot for the work!
    I wish you all much success with the next Translations (and updates to this one) as well as A Merry Christmas to all of you and a prosperous New Year!

  7. I literally screamed when I checked the tracker! I was literally tearing up when I loaded the game. I’ve been wanting to play this game for literally a decade and I thank you all so much for doing this. There aren’t enough words to describe how excited I am right now.

    • Also, thank you guys so much for this patch 🙏 genuinely legendary crew for doing this and you have all our appreciation and love, please have a great Christmas 🙂

  8. I haven’t been able to try it yet. But the sheer time and effort you guys put in. We’ll done, and thank you! I didn’t think I’d ever get to play my copy and understand it ;^;.

    I need to go back and finish the first now. As I wanted to binge both extra and ccc once this was finished.

    Great early Christmas gift!

  9. There are no words for the emotions I am feeling right now. Translating a game as a fan is hard and thankless work, I understand that very well. No matter how many times we do thank you it won’t come close to making up for the countless hours you gave to this project. From the patcher to the details of the naming options, to the extensive attention to detail in the temrinology, this was clearly a labor of love. So you deserve just as much love given back to you. I love you! Platonically. Mostly.

  10. Just leaving a nice comment for all the hard work you good people have done these past years. I wish all the people in the translation team good luck in their future endeavors whatever it may be. You’re all unquestionably real hero in Fate community!

  11. Hello! First of all, I would to thank everyone behind this work. I’ve been waiting for this since high school lol haha. Anyways, can anyone please tell me how can i patch this using Android? I’ve never done this kind of thing before sorry.

  12. I bought a new PSP for this! (My old one had a pretty damaged screen…)

    But I’d like to say, “Thanks for doing all this for us.”

  13. I’ve been waiting for this for so long. I had played the first game three times (One with each servant), and started to play CCC using a translated sight but I lost my place and lost steam, instead waiting for this to be done.

    My PC may be trash, but I have a Steam Deck now set up and ready for this kinda thing.

  14. Thanks to the amazing team that worked on this! Been waiting for many years to play this and glad to finally see the day come!

  15. Congratulation’s on finishing this difficult and long project.
    I’m really glad that I and manny other can play CCC fully in English.

    You guys are a great example of what a group of passionate people can do given time an dedication.

    All of you are legends.

  16. Wow
    Congratulation’s on finishing this difficult and long project.
    I’m really glad that I and manny other can play CCC fully in English.

    You guys are a great example of what a group of passionate people can do given time an dedication.

    All of you are legends.

  17. I don’t think I know any words that could describe the level of respect I have for you guys. For the dedication and perseverance you’ve all shown, I want to say thank you.

    Although I’ve fallen out of the Fate franchise years ago (ngl fgo broke me), I’ll definitely still play this game.

    Again, thanks for the early Christmas gift.

  18. I’ve been following the project for years so really happy to see the patch being release, definitely worth the wait and now i already know what i’m going to be playing this month, thank you to all the team for their work!

  19. Thank you so much for making this work available to us!! I loved playing through the original fate/extra and I’m so so excited that I can now experience even more of this world. Thank you for all your time and work on this project, I’m proud of you all for getting it done

  20. So happy this finally got released. It’s must’ve been more than a decade. But we’re finally here. Cheers to the entire translation team and everyone who has been waiting to finally play this game in English.

  21. Amazing work! Are you guys able to make the full text of the game available in another format? Like a script/word doc that could be searched?

  22. I been waiting for almost 2 years now it’s finally done and thank to anyone who in the translation team since this translation take a lot of time and patience to make it for everyone to enjoy I hope you succeed in the next project.💓

    • Yeah, the voices are way too quiet! Like I have music at 3 and SFX/voices at 7 and the sfx is massively loud while voices are too soft.

  23. I want to say thank you so much for this translation! I’ve been hoping to play this game for so many years and it’s just amazing to finally be able to play it!

  24. This is amazing. I’ve waited years for this and I never doubted you guys for a second. Thanks for doing something that not a lot of people could do… Make the impossible possible. Thanks again.

  25. I really can’t believe it’s finally here.
    Thank you so, so much for all of your work. I couldn’t possibly ask for a better Christmas gift ever.

  26. I am lucky enough to only had been waiting for 2 years and yet I can’t express how thankful I am for your work , I am currently enjoying the game that I always wanted to play thanks to you guys, this is truly amazing and the least I can do is to thank you and wish you an “Extra” happy end of the year !

  27. After playing it for a while, A LOT of lines sound like disconnected gibberish and you have to read them 5 times to understand what the character means. Are these lines translated literally? Feels like machine translation at times.

  28. is there any compatability issues cause there’s a patched version of the og game so i’m wondering if there will be any issues like that

  29. Pingback: English Fan Translation Patch For PSP Dungeon-Crawler ‘Fate/EXTRA CCC’ Released – Gamer Fridge

  30. Pingback: English Fan Translation Patch For PSP Dungeon-Crawler ‘Fate/EXTRA CCC’ Released - AAA Gamer

  31. Thank you iwakura productions for doing this amazing deed. And like I said before, may you get the most amazing Christmas gift and day as you did for us. #Thanks @Cj, Kotcrab, ItsumoKnight, Rikkuchou, SnowyAria, Esperknight and everyone else I didn’t mention

  32. Thank you very much for the patch!

    Have not tried to use CWCheat yet, will see if this patch works with original game cheat table.

    • Welp, looks like cwcheat works for the game!!!! Wooorayyy!!!

      However my character is pretty overpowered with lv 99 master…..oooof

      • He was probably looking for the english iso file of the game but it’s not included in the link on this article. Found it somewhere else instead and is more than 1000mb.

  33. Pingback: Fate/Extra CCC Fan Translation Released! - Fuwanovel

  34. Hi, first of all thank you for this wonderful project. Now sorry for the noobish question but is it possible to play this on the psp with the iso file? I’m not used to playing via emulators.

    Thanx 4 the help. Appreciate it. :))

      • was probably looking for the english iso file of the game but it’s not included in the link on this article. Found it somewhere else instead and is more than 1000mb.

  35. A moment of silence to those who weren’t able to witness this glorious moment. 🙏

    Huge thanks to the team! I can feel the passion and commitment you put into this. 10 years is just really something…

  36. Hello. Thank you for all your hardwork!
    I am planning to start translating Fate Extra CCC from English into Russian and would like to know the technical nuances of how you translated it (how to access the text files of the game, is there a lot of graphic text, etc.) How can I contact you on this issue ? (mail, etc.)

  37. Hey, so I have an issue with the Fate/Extra (NA ver.) game clear save data, when I try to load it the system says the memory card is empty, but when I go to the “DATA” section on the main menu, hit the delete data option and get the full list of saved games, it does appear there. Is this a bug or am I being a dumdum? Playing on PPSSPP, btw

  38. I just finished the Gilgamesh route and just now true route and it was an amazing experince. Quality of this translation is top notch and this game is massive! I’m closing 2023 quite well because of the experience you guys brought to the English speaking fate community. Greetings and happy new years from Turkey.

  39. Can’t believe it’s finally here! Thank you so much for your hard work all these years and I can’t wait to play the game 🤩

  40. I have a blackscreen problem with the game in chapter 1 after talking to your servant and you need to go to the student council room for the first time whenever i enter the room a get an endless blackscreen on an emulator and if on an actual psp it turns off the psp. Can I ask advise on how to fix this problem of mine?

  41. I greatly appreciate the great work you did. It really shouldn’t have been easy, but still, thank you. I was waiting patiently all this time too, so thank you very much for this.

  42. You guys are the real heroes!
    I already beat the game in full japanese back in the day, but now I can’t wait to jump into it again and relive my childhood.
    Thank you thank you thank you!

  43. are you able to use this patch on ppsspp And if so how are you able to install it thank you for the help if you can

Leave a comment