The Sakura Wars [PC] Fan Translation Project

I’ve been waiting to formally announce this, and now it’s time.

For the unfamiliar, there was a PC port of the original Sakura Wars. It was released on just about everything, after all, since it took Japan by storm.

At some point, for some reason, it got a Russian release.

So it was then decided by some adventurous hackers that this would be the ideal avenue for a US release.

Sadly, their endeavors fell through.

Ours won’t.

That’s right, Iwakura Productions has officially taken over ownership of the Sakura Wars Fan Translation.

I’ll be editing, EsperKnight is hacking, and a translator by the name of Nezumi was kind enough to volunteer.

This is a brand new translation as well. No prior scripts are being used or referenced.

We’ve already got the script 1/12th completed. And insertion has begun.

Without further ado…


LIPS prompts will need tweaking, as you can see, but they work great.

Stay tuned. Imperial Floral Assault Troupe is go!

64 responses to “The Sakura Wars [PC] Fan Translation Project

  1. Hello. Can you share the text editing tools? I am from Belarus, Russian – my second language. I see the Russian text in this game is terrible, some of it is translated with large of errors.
    I’m planning with my friend something to change the text, translate again from jap-rus some places.
    Also excuse me for my english, it isn’t perfect.

    • Yea, I’d be interested in helping, too, so long as the text is easily accessible. (Translation’s about all I can do for this project.)

  2. Looking forward to it, I hope you have a good experience with it and decide on translating the other 3 games. I have the original complete box for PC in case further rips are needed…

    Oh man I’m already seeing me playing hanafuda with Kohran again…

  3. Pingback: Segas Sakura Taisen fan-översätts till engelska | SegaZine

  4. So just to ask – does this mean that we need a copy of the Russian Sakura Taisen, or the Japanese version?

    Either way, thanks for your excellent work!

  5. What tools are you using for the .SPR files? I just wanted to know because i’m helping someone else translate the second one… would you be able to send me those tools? I don’t mind about the text since i already know how to do that.

    • Rather than a god, I suppose I should give thanks to these translators, who are sort of like gods to certain US citizens who grew up in the golden years of Saturn.

  6. I have the Saturn version and would be happy to supply you guys with rips if you think your work can also be applied to it.

  7. I just wanted to say thanks for working on this project. I know it will take some time, but this is all but the culmination of a dream for me. Good luck!

  8. Thank you so much for continuing the project. After I thought it was dead it seemed that the Kiss Me Sweet Localization Group’s translated walkthrough would be the only solace in an unlocalized landscape. I know you guys are about 30% complete but when you’re done, which i’m guessing will be around 2016, could you send me the game file or what have you? I run The Sakura Wars Channel on YouTube and the community on there has been craving a translated version of the original 4 after I did a botched translated version of Sakura Wars 3. Just a suggestion.

    • Funny how people reply to the oldest update. 😛 What file are you in need of? I’d be happy to give you some early version access if you want to show it off.

  9. Greetings. Are project is still alive? The thing is, I played first and second sakura taisen on my native language (Russian), but the thing is, that Russian company that got rights to localize these games stopped releasing them after second part, so there is no hope for me to play third and fourth one, so the only possibility is to wait for someone to actualy translate those two games in english. I can even play third part with FAQs guide, as long as I can somehow understand what is happening, but fourth part never got full FAQs guide, and stopped on part 3. Is there a hope for you guys to translate other games aswell?
    Thanks.

  10. Do you think there will be a way to make the english patch a cheat for the sega saturn itself? I know Sega Saturn has a thing called “action replay” where you can install a whole bunch of cheats, as well as being able to play japanese games while having it plugged in. The thing that bugged me is that no one ever thought to make a cheat that makes the text english for some games. I don’t know if it’s possible, but I would really love to play my copy instead of it gathering dust.

    • Maybe? It’s possible, but right now the PC version is the focus since it’s easiest, then we’ll see if we can retroactively apply it to anything else.

      • Oh yes I know about that one. I tried going for printing the whole script but realized that would take WAY too much paper. I ought to try again since I have better methods now lol.

  11. Hi, I’m glad to see that there is frequent updates to the comments section as I cannot wait to get Sakura Taisen in english. I have been a long term fan of the series for a long time now and own all games on multiple systems.

    My question is, Will you try and port the translation to the PSP version eventually because I personally believe that it’s the best definitive version of the first two games.

    The reason it’s the best version of the original first two games is that there is no boarder around the adventure scenes and is actually full screen. I play this not only officially on my PSP for on the go, but it’s also my prefered method of playing it on the Big Screen using the PPSSPP Emulator.

    Best Versions of the main series:-
    Sakura Taisen 1 & 2 (PSP)
    Sakura Taisen: Atsuki Chishio Ni (Playstation 2) – Aka. ST1 Remake
    Sakura Taisen 3 (Playstation 2) – PC version might be just as good.
    Sakura Taisen 4 (Dreamcast) – PC Version might be just as good.
    Sakura Taisen: So Long My Love Limited Edition (Playstation 2) – Dual Audio

  12. I love this game. I’d really like to play it in english, once I have played it in japanese a long time ago, and even so, it was a sublime experience, if I could understand all the story, then it would be perfect.

    I really appreciate what you’re doing. What are the title you are working on? Sakura Wars 1 or 2?

  13. CJ, Can I ask what % you guys have reached. Hope you can become the full fledged heroes with a release soon. Thank you for your work.

  14. Any updates or progress?

    Great news:
    Sega announce a brand new Sakura Wars game. Hopefully, this patch comes out before that game comes out in stores.

    • Sigh probably. There have not been any updates in 7 months. Well these thing happen tho, maybe in the 2020s someone will pick this up.

  15. Pingback: Трекер Переводов Визуальных Новелл (обновление 12/05/2019) | Киногад

  16. Pingback: Final Testing Begins For The Sega Saturn Sakura Wars Fan Translation - ZetGaming

Leave a comment